Where I stand: The Aftermath of the Zimmerman Trial


PT2So now it is not just Stevie Wonder! A small army of entertainers has decided to boycott Florida…no concerts and no appearances for the very fans who bought their albums and merchandise and made them the cool guys they are.  Many of those adoring fans probably even felt the same way about the outcome of the Zimmerman trial. Though I think it is sad for those fans, I am not losing any sleep over it. Over Kanye? Please. The Stones? I dont think so…just looking at Mick Jagger for more than 20 seconds makes my eyes hurt.

Anyone who knows me will know right away that I don’t have a racist bone in my body. I despise it. I grew up in a place in this country where it is very easy to fall into racial prejudice. It was common, but I resisted it because I didn’t see other people any different than me, other than the fact that most of them were taller, so I thought I was the odd one out.  I spent most of my adult life in the Army as an Infantryman, where the guy next to you could be any color, religion or ethnicity you could think of. But out in the bush, he was your brother and you kept each other alive… that’s all that mattered.

For the record, I, too, believe that George Zimmerman is an idiot that set the conditions that resulted in Trayvon Martins death. He was an overzealous neighborhood watch volunteer with a Batman mentality. But a racist murderer? I don’t see it.  Much of the evidence seen by the jury (and discounted by the liberal media) showed George Zimmerman to be anything but a racist… but a racist he became when Barack Obama, Eric Holder, Al Sharpton and a small army of cool guys exploited the entire incident to further a misplaced agenda. Even when the evidence suggested otherwise, they couldn’t back down…they had already come too far, so they continued to exploit this case, first on basis of race and later at the expense of a citizen’s right to defend themselves. Incidentally, Eric Holder using this case as a platform to call for the end of Self Defense Laws in his speech at the NAACP convention is political game play and the height of hypocrisy…

“Separate and apart from the case that has drawn the nation’s attention, it’s time to question laws that senselessly expand the concept of self-defense and sow dangerous conflict in our neighborhoods,”

“But we must examine laws that take this further by eliminating the common sense and age-old requirement that people who feel threatened have a duty to retreat, outside their home, if they can do so safely,”

“By allowing — and perhaps encouraging — violent situations to escalate in public, such laws undermine public safety.”

Eric Holder and his family will never have to worry about having to defend themselves in their home or in their neighborhood…they will always have someone to do it for them.

Furthermore, I absolutely believe that Martin went after Zimmerman too…I have no doubt that he busted him in the nose and pounded his head on the concrete, just like the witnesses said. I would have gone after that “creepy ass cracker” too if he was following me around the neighborhood!  Martin had a right to defend himself too and that is what I think he was doing when he confronted the “creepy ass cracker” that was following him. The question is, racist or not, did Zimmerman profile Martin and is that why Trayvon Martin is dead, like our President would have had you believe?

I don’t think so. I think he handled it poorly but I also  believe he would have done the same thing had it been a white “punk” in a hoodie and had that been the case, we would have never heard the name George Zimmerman. I know many of you wont agree with me on that and thats my point…collectively, our judgement was clouded by this pre-trial campaign and I dont think anyone knows what to believe…but you can bet that no one is backing down.

There are enough injustices out there every day without exploiting a tragedy like this to create such a divisive one on a national level. The jury heard every minute of testimony. They saw and heard much more than any of us and they spoke.  They didn’t buy the racist argument and the State could not get a conviction on a second degree murder charge. They should have let it go to the Grand Jury like it should have, settled for Manslaughter by Culpable Negligence and held Zimmerman accountable for being an idiot, instead of trying to make him out to be a racist murderer.

So now Eric Holder has spoken and the Justice Department is weighing whether on not to try and twist this into a civil rights case, while that small army of cool guys (and gals) from the entertainment industry have decided to boycott the State of Florida, refusing to perform…and not because a racist murderer got off scot- free, but because of the “Stand Your Ground” laws that exist in the State. Unfortunately, there are cases where things went terribly wrong in places where these laws exist, just like in the Trayvon Martin case, but overwhelmingly, these are laws that have kept many innocent people from becoming victims of violent crime by allowing them to take a stand and defend themselves and their families. The deterrent value alone has likely prevented more violent crime than actual self defense.

What is most interesting to me is that the majority of this country agrees. More than half of all US States have Castle Doctrine Laws that remove the duty to retreat before using force in self defense (I Wonder if Stevie knows that?)…and while the Attorney General has the right to his opinion, he knows as well as anyone that holding his breath waiting for it to go away would be fatal. Maybe if a few more States would pass similar laws, we could run that small army of entertainer’s right out of the country. I would like to see them boycott all of those States.

This case was a terrible tragedy. Two young men, who both had the right to defend themselves, neither of which handled the situation very well… one lost his life, and the others life will never be the same.  This was not about gun rights or self defense laws. It wasn’t about racial profiling or civil rights abuses. It’s about poor judgment and that is what George Zimmerman is guilty of.

*On a side note…If you or your family have not been a victim of violent crime, don’t waste your time debating with me on whether or not a person has the right  to defend rather than retreat. You have one life to live as do your loved ones…feel free to compromise it in your own home if you feel you might be able to get away during the most chaotic and frightening moment of your life. I won’t.

*To all of you bad guys out there…Come after me or my family in anger or greed and I will kill you…dead. I will not analyze the situation or debate with myself whether or not I can get away before you pull that trigger, nor will I worry about whether or not I will get in trouble for fighting back. I will do everything in my power to drop you like a hot rock.

4 thoughts on “Where I stand: The Aftermath of the Zimmerman Trial

  1. Our property, where my son is residing, was recently broken into at night and robbed, and the two young men were caught on tape. The police are apparently aware of where they hang out (reside?), the tape has been on the news, but no arrests have even attempted to be made to my knowledge. No mention was made, either, that one of them appeared to be armed when he entered the premises. Let me assure you that I would have felt no choice but to have defended myself physically had I been on the premises, as surprises like that don’t often come with an easy escape opportunity. It disturbs me that anyone would use this particular media case that you have cited to try to take away a citizen’s right to self defense. On the other side of the coin, a citizen has the responsibility to take those rights to a level of somber reality in recognizing what it would mean to use them. On a side note, I don’t think any of us will be any worse off to lose some “celebrities” coming to entertain in our state – but the reality is, if the event were large enough & paid enough money, they’d be there. They aren’t fooling me.

Leave a Reply

