Thursday the Burger Day


Thursday was hamburger day and the lunch room at Montclair had the best burgers I ever ate! There was this sauce on them, sort of like the Big Mac sauce at McDonalds, only without the chopped pickles. I hated pickles, but I loved those burgers and I doubt I missed a Thursday at Montclair in all of the years I went there.

One day, I had just sat down at the lunch table and was about to bite into my burger when a girl from my class sat down directly across from me. I will call her Jennifer, because that was her name…just not her full name, because as I have said, I am responsible enough to protect all of my Facebook friends in hopes that they would do the same for me, should they ever decide to write a “tell all” blog.

So there I was with no one else at the table yet..but Jennifer. Frankly, I was a little annoyed that she didn’t sit somewhere else because I knew that if she was sitting there, none of my buddies would. Wrong? I know, but the guys will know what I am talking about here. I was not a mean little boy, it’s just that little boys and little girls in the third grade simply do not have the same interests. They don’t talk about the same things or do the same things…complete polar opposites. But instead of getting up and going to another table, I just sat there like a snared rabbit, thinking to myself that of all of the open tables in that lunch room, she had to sit there.

Jennifer was sort of the fragile type and though I didn’t particularly like her, I didnt dislike her either so I didnt want to make her feel bad by getting up and moving. Today we would consider that bad for her self esteem. She was not the ripest pumpkin in the patch either, but at that age, I really didn’t think any girls were worth looking at anyway. She was smart though and when your average at best, you want to keep those smart cards tucked in to your sleeve…you might need them one day.

Antique-1968-Josie-amp-The-Pussycats-Red-Vinyl-Lunch-Box-amp-Thermos-p38575.jpg.middleSo here was Jennifer  sitting across from me when she opened up her Josey and the Pussycats lunchbox. Groovy, right? Hey, I was down with it…until she pulled out the Tupperware. This was not cool…like a sack lunch in high school.  I dont why, maybe it was the pastel colors it came in or maybe it was that mean snotty 5th grader that kept hounding me about it…”Hey Doorbell! Did your Mommy pack your sammich in the pretty pink tupperware today?”  I guess you could say I developed a bit of a tupperwaphobia and finally decided to lose it on the way to school one day. It was worth the trouble I got into to lose all the tupperware in the house because with my Mom it was one strike and your out…”You can just eat whatever they fix at school from now on!”  Well alright then!! I had to pretend I was devastated and let her believe that I liked those bologna sammiches with no mayo or mustard or cheese, but I didnt play it too long or too deep. I just wanted her to think she was in charge. Problem solved.

So here again, kids can be pretty cruel and I should have expected that from the snotty fifth graders, but that’s the last thing I would ever describe myself as having been at Montclair. Hard to come across as cruel when you are only 4 feet tall…plus or minus an inch or two, but as far as I was concerned Jennifer was asking for it. She never said a word though. She just stared at that tupperware tub for a few minutes as though she was trying to work up the courage to open it. It was all really frightening. I wasn’t yet sure of what was in it but apparently she was having second thoughts about it….and by this point, so was I.

And then she did it. She opened the little Tupperware tub, exposing the biggest nastiest purple grapes I ever saw. I hated grapes as much as pickles and these were big ones… huge! There were probably 20 or more in there but it looked like hundreds as she put tupperwarethem in her ferocious beak one by one, slowly and painfully crushing the very life juices from them. It was a scene I could only describe as horrific. I tried to look away. I looked down at the table but I still saw her through the bottom of my brow and still she never made eye contact. She just sat there, emotionless. After about 15 of these dreaded grapes were massacred, she looked up and we finally made eye contact. I was terrified! There was this awkward Linda Blair moment and at that point I knew something real bad was about to happen. Her lips were purple and I saw her skin tone begin to take on pale translucent qualities…I knew then that she was about to blow. Just as the boys made their way over to the table, Jennifer let go with a purple haze all over it and in an instant, my favorite day of the week, Thursday the burger day was ruined.

One thought on “Thursday the Burger Day

  1. Then what happened, what did the guys do or say, what happened to Jennifer…… please keep writing, I want more of the story. This story is great and even moreso because it really happened. You’re such an outstanding writer. And… I don’t say that because I’m married to you either….. you are a great writer. Okay so…… What happened next? Please write more. 😉

Leave a Reply

